It is safe to say that nobody wants to be accused of a sex crime. Whether or not the accusation is true, the stigma can stick with a person for years. This is why it is very important to be fully aware of all the laws surrounding sexual activity, including the age of consent. The age of consent can vary between countries and even between states, so it is important to understand the laws that specifically apply to Texas. According to Age of Consent, the age of consent in the state of Texas is 17 years old.

The age of consent dictates of the youngest age where an individual is able to freely and legally consent to sexual activity. If the individual in question is 16 years of age or younger, they are not legally able to consent. Thus if a person 16 years of age or younger engages in sexual activity with an adult partner, that adult partner may be charged with statutory rape.

It is important to know that the state of Texas does not have a so-called Romeo and Juliet Clause. The Romeo and Juliet Clause protects individuals who are close in age from being accused of statutory rape if one of the partners is below the threshold. What this means is that it is theoretically possible for a seventeen-year-old to be charged with statutory rape if he or she has engaged in sexual activity with a sixteen-year-old. Generally speaking, this is rare, but it is possible.

In fact, it is even possible for two individuals under the age of 17 to both be prosecuted for statutory rape if they engage in sexual activity with each other. Again, this is highly unlikely, but it is possible.